Tuesday, March 30, 2010

The CWA Dagger Awards

Mystery fans, April brings us to the Edgar Awards! The 2010 Edgar Awards will be presented on April 29th. Watch the Edgar website for news on the award winners! The 2010 Grand Master is Dorothy Gilman, author of the Mrs. Pollifax series.

In the meantime, have you checked out the Crime Writers' Association's Dagger Awards? The Crime Writers' Association (CWA) was founded by John Creasey in 1953 and it has become a distinctive feature on the crime-fiction landscape in the UK. Past officers of the CWA have included Ian Rankin, Peter Lovesey, & Dick Francis. They give out the Dagger Awards annually: the Gold Dagger for the best crime novel by an author of any nationality, originally written in English; the International Dagger for crime, thriller, suspense novels or spy fiction which have been translated into English from their original language; the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for thrillers set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction and/or action/ adventure stories; the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger, awarded in memory of CWA founder John Creasey, for first books by previously unpublished writers; and the Cartier Diamond Dagger, which is a lifetime achievement award. Past recipients of the Diamond Dagger have included Sue Grafton, Val McDermid, Elmore Leonard, and Colin Dexter.

For more information on the Dagger Awards, visit the CWA website. We will also be having a Gold Dagger Award display in the library during the month of April with an accompanying booklist.

No comments: