Saturday, July 7, 2012

Featured New Mexico Author: Steven F. Havill

Albuquerque area resident Steven F. Havill gives readers a mystery series with a distinctly New Mexican flavor.

Lawman Bill Gastner is getting older. And heavier. He has medical problems. His wife has died.

But he can still solve mysteries with the best of them.

Set in "Las Posadas County" in southern New Mexico, this series captures the flavors and voices of New Mexico and covers quite a bit of time -- without giving anything away, let's just say that Gastner is an Undersheriff in the first book and works his way up from there.

The Undersheriff Bill Gastner series:

1. Heartshot (1991)
2. Bitter Recoil (1992)
3. Twice Buried (1994)
4. Before She Dies (1996)
5. Privileged to Kill (1997)
6. Prolonged Exposure (1998)
7. Out of Season (1999)
8. Bag Limit (2001)
9. Dead Weight (2000)
10. Scavengers (2002)
11. A Discount for Death (2003)
12. Convenient Disposal (2004)
13. Statute of Limitations (2006)
14. Final Payment (2007)
15. The Fourth Time Is Murder (2008)
16. Red, Green, or Murder (2009)
17. Double Prey (2011)
18. One Perfect Shot (2012)

In a departure from rural law enforcement Steven Havill has started a new historical mystery series, revolving around the adventures of early-1900s Dr. Thomas Parks:

"The young Dr. Thomas Parks expects to practice trauma medicine with a distinguished doctor in Port McKinney, Washington. What he does not expect is to be nearly killed within an hour of arriving. The accident changes his life, and with long hours of painful convalescence, Thomas makes a sobering discovery: the physician who has invited Thomas to join his practice is not what he seems.

At the center of the conflict is mail-order diagnosis, which flourished until the U.S. mail fraud statutes of 1908. In its landmark report of 1910, the American Medical Association reported that several physicians had organizations that recorded more than 3,000 postal responses per month, a large percentage of which included money for worthless medicine.
Steven F. Havill departs from his well-received mystery series to bring readers this fascinating historical novel." - from the book jacket

1. Race for the Dying (2009)
2. Comes a Time for Burning (2011)

Steven F. Havill lives near Albuquerque, New Mexico, with his wife Kathleen, a writer and artist. A dedicated high school teacher of high school biology and English by day, Havill earned both his B.A. and M.A. from the University of New Mexico.

Other mystery series by New Mexico authors:

Rudolfo Anaya - Sonny Baca series
Christine Barber - Lucy Newroe series
Steve Brewer - Bubba Mabry series, Drew Gavin series
Stephen R. Donaldson - Mick Axbrewder series
James D. Doss - Charlie Moon series
Tony Hillerman - Jim Chee series, Joe Leaphorn series, Jim Chee & Joe Leaphorn series
Darynda Jones - Charley Davidson series
Robert Kresge -  Warbonnet series
Sarah Lovett - Dr. Sylvia Strange series
Michael McGarrity - Kevin Kerney series
J. Michael Orenduff - Pot Thief / Hubie Schuze series
John Maddox Roberts - SPQR series
Walter Satterthwait - Escapade series, Joshua Croft series
Connie Shelton - Charlie Parker series
Susan Slater - Ben Pecos series
Virginia Swift - Mustang Sally series
Pari Noskin Taichert - Sasha Solomon series
Aimee and David Thurlo - Ella Clah series, Lee Nez series,  Sister Agatha series
Judith Van Gieson - Claire Reynier series, Neil Hamel series
Robert Westbrook - Howard Moon Deer series

Explore the world of mysteries by New Mexico authors.

No comments: