Thursday, March 26, 2015

Featured Author: Robin Hobb

Robin Hobb is one of the pseudonyms of epic fantasy author Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden. Born in California and raised in Alaska, Ogden, according to her publisher, "raised her family, ran a smallholding, delivered post to her remote community, all at the same time as writing stories and novels. She succeeded on all fronts, raising four children and becoming an internationally best-selling writer." She now lives in Tacoma, Washington.

Ogden started her career trying to write children's books, but later decided "...that there was a corollary to the famous 'Write what you know' advice. That was, 'Write what you love reading.'" A longtime fan of science fiction and fantasy, she decided to change direction. She had tremendous success writing fantasy novels  from 1983-1992 as Megan Lindholm, but when she decided to take an epic fantasy (sometimes called high fantasy) storyline, Ogden felt her new voice required a new name. As Robin Hobb, her books (beginning with Assassin's Apprentice in 1995) encompass several series, but all take place in the Realm of the Elderlings with the exception of the Forest Mage Trilogy.  There are links between the series, and at least two of them run concurrently.

The Farseer Trilogy
The story of FitzChivalry Farseer (Fitz), a trained assassin.

Royal Assassin [eBook]

Liveship Traders Trilogy

Ship of Magic [eBook + eAudio]

The Tawny Man Trilogy
The Tawny Man series continues the adventures of FitzChivalry Farseer from the author's Farseer Trilogy, fifteen years later.

Fool's Fate [eBook]

The Rain Wild Chronicles
Takes place years after The Liveship Traders Trilogy.

Dragon Keeper [eBook + eAudio]

The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy
The continuing adventures of Fitz, years later.

The Forest Mage Series
Also called the Soldier Son Trilogy.

Find stories written under her other pseudonym, Megan Lindholm, in the Dangerous Women anthology.

Readalikes: George R. R. Martin, Susanna Clarke, Philip Pullman, Patrick Rothfuss, J.R.R. Tolkien, J. K. Rowling.

No comments: