Sunday, June 27, 2010

Jun 27, 1922: First Newbery Medal for children's literature

The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. Named for eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery, the purpose of the Newbery Medal was stated as follows: "To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field." celebrates the Newbery

Newbery Medal Winners, 1922 - Present (list)

Our all-time favorite Newbery winners (& honored books) are The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle, Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink, The Grey King by Susan Cooper, Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell, The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo, Lily's Crossing by Patricia Reilly Giff, Anpao: An American Indian Odyssey by Jamake Highwater & A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck. What are yours?

1 comment:

scrapdancing said...

I also enjoyed Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson and Holes by Louis Sachar.