Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Albuquerque's Sister Cities

What is a sister city?  According to Sister Cities International, "A sister city, county or state relationship is a broad-based, officially approved, long-term partnership between two communities, counties or states in two countries. A sister city, county or state relationship becomes official with a signing ceremony of the top-elected officials of the two local jurisdictions... Sister city partnerships have the potential to carry out the widest possible diversity of activities of any international program, including every type of municipal, business, professional, educational and
cultural exchange or project. following approval by the local city councils."  The Sister City Program began in 1956 as a creative force for international cooperation and goodwill through community action.

Albuquerque formed its first sister city relationship in 1966 with Sasebo, Japan.  Currently, Albuquerque has nine sister cities: Alburquerque, Spain; Ashgabat, Turkmenistan;  Chihuahua & Guadalajara, Mexico; Helmstedt, Germany; Hualien, Taiwan; Lanzhou, China; Rehovot, Israel; & Sasebo.

Learn about Sasebo & the Albuquerque Sister Cities Foundation, all-volunteer organization, coupled with continual support from Albuquerque’s City Hall, on Thursday, June 30th at the North Valley Library!

No comments: